Brussels imposes testing and quarantine rules for unvaccinated and unrecovered travelers from red zones


The Belgian authorities have announced that due to the worrying epidemiological situation in the Brussels-Capital Region, stricter entry restrictions will apply to travelers from the red zones.

According to a press release issued by the Common Community Commission of Brussels-Capital, from September 17, all people who have not been fully vaccinated against the COVID-19 disease and those who have not recovered from the virus will be forced to follow a ten-day quarantine requirement and undergo COVID-19 testing on day one.

The requirement will apply to all those returning or traveling from a red zone located in the European Union / Schengen area as well as those arriving from a red zone on the white list, which includes third countries, reports.

Nonetheless, the same revealed that even though travelers are required to remain isolated for ten days, the quarantine period may be shortened if a negative COVID-19 test result is presented on the seventh day.

“When returning from a red zone located in the European Union, in the Schengen area and in the red zone on the white list of non-European countries, people who have not been vaccinated or without a recovery certificate, who will reside in Brussels at their arrival in Belgium, from September 17, 2021, will have to respect a quarantine of 10 days ”, we read in the press release of the Common Community Commission of Brussels.

In addition to the measures mentioned above, it was pointed out that incoming travelers and those returning to Brussels are also required to complete the passenger tracking form.

Based on data provided by the Belgian federal authorities, the following countries and regions of the EU / Schengen area are currently on Belgium’s red list:

  • Austria: Vienna, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Voralberg
  • Bulgaria
  • Half of Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark: Capital region
  • Estonia
  • Finland: Helsinki
  • France: all regions except Center – Loire Valley, Lower Normandy, Upper Normandy, Pays de la Loire
  • Regions of Germany
  • Regions of Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland: North and West, South, East and Midland
  • Italy: Basilicata, Calabria, Sicily, Sardinia, Tuscany, The Marches
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania: Vilnius County
  • Monaco
  • Regions of the Netherlands
  • Norway: Trøndelag, Oslo and Viken, Western Norway
  • Regions of Portugal
  • Slovenia: Eastern and Western Slovenia
  • Regions of Spain
  • Regions of Switzerland

As for countries outside the EU / Schengen Area, the federal authorities have revealed that the areas listed below are also part of Belgium’s red list:

  • Armenia
  • Albania
  • Brunei
  • Japan
  • Serbia

Regarding vaccinated and recovered travelers, the authorities stressed that they can enter the country as long as they meet the entry conditions.

Thus, travelers who have been fully vaccinated with any of the vaccines authorized by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) – Pfizer / BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson – and Covishield and those who prove they have recovered within the last 180 days are allowed to enter the country.

Previously, Belgian tourism representatives had asked the government to extend the temporary unemployment measure, as the country’s tourism sector had experienced a massive decline.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.